Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Moving to a “new” old house can be both frustrating and a lot of fun.  All those vintage features that once were the latest in home decorating are now very, very outdated, and can sometimes even look like mountains too big to move.

Our family recently moved into a cottage style house built in the 1950’s.  Although the place had a great floor plan, the paint colors in all the rooms fell into one of the two categories:  outdated or plain weird.  A brown master bedroom, bright blue bathroom, and a grey and black guest bedroom were not quite my cup of tea.  So, I set out on a decorating mission.

One of the first projects completed was our little bathroom.  I loved the skylight and the crown moulding, but I hated the bright blue color on the walls and the run-off-the-mill look of the plain white vanity and polished chrome accessories.

As I used to be a fine artist specializing in acrylics on canvas before I became a wife, I thought I might try my hand at house painting.  What a better and more inexpensive way to change the atmosphere of a room than painting the walls!  Instead of the bright blue marked by numerous holes in the walls the previous resident left behind, I opted for an olive tinted green to give my ho-hum bathroom a vintage look worthy of our little vintage cottage.  See the difference?

All of this was achieved for under $300.  Here is the breakdown:

1 gallon of Valspar Ultra Kitchen & Bath paint in LaFonda Cactus – $33.98 (you won’t need a whole gallon, but you can’t buy less than that);

Samples of Valspar Signature paint in Churchill Hotel Vanilla, Arizona Dust, and Appletini – $2.98 each

Linden tree stencil from Olive Leaf Stencils on Etsy – $69.95

Floral Citron Leaf shower curtain from World Market – $29.99

Linen Symphony bath rugs (2), 20″x30″ also from World Market – $29.99 each

Allen & Roth 3-piece Forsyth bathroom hardware set – $45.98

Allen & Roth Forsyth 2-hook robe hook – $13.49

I also added some drawer pulls to the vanity.  I hand painted the vanity with a vintage floral motif, and I used 6 knobs and 1 twig shaped pull in oil rubbed bronze finish.  I found them at my local Lowes, and they ranged in price between $1.89 and $2.98 each.

True, I am planning to replace the faucets in order to match all other oil rubbed bronze details, and since neither I nor my husband are into plumbing work, I am expecting to have to shell out another $400-$500 to have a plumber do it.  Even with that, we will still be well under $1000 for the whole project.  A small price to pay for a completely “new,” personalized bathroom.

Got any bathroom remodeling stories of your own to share?  Post links to your photos and/or blogs in the comments below.

You may also like:

Monday Metamorphosis http://betweennapsontheporch.net/find-a-previous-post-faster-blog-tweaks/

