Tags

, , , , , , ,

Desk After in Office bw

Since we moved into our new house, we have been dealing with little “quirks” of the previous owner’s decorating sense. One of those quirks was a set of built-ins – a cabinet and a shelf – in the second bedroom which we converted into office.

Only enough space was left between the two sides of the built in piece to leave the small window on that wall unobstructed.

Office after blog

(This is the office after I had painted the walls and the trim. The original owner had the walls in a medium grey color, and the built-ins were black. That made the room so gloomy and sad! I brightened it up with Valspar Signature paint in Cliveden Mist on the walls, and Valspar Signature in Swiss Coffee for the trim.)

It took me three months to find a desk that would fit into that space, but once I found it, it did fit perfectly. I was thrilled when I saw this little pine wood desk in one of the local antique shops, and although it was in pretty good shape as it was, I immediately started thinking what I could do with it.

Desk Before blog

After considering different options, I finally settled on the one that would bring out the carved wheat design and brighten up the whole piece. I lightly sanded and stained the desk top and frame, and painted drawers with Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint in Lucketts Green. I accented the design with MMS Milk Paint in Old Typewriter, and added black knobs to all drawers.

Desk After blog 2

I thought it turned out quite pretty… and, it fit perfectly into the odd space between the built-ins in the office. Mission accomplished!

Desk After in Office blog

Now, this little beauty will serve as the new home for the sewing machine my mother-in-law gave me as a gift. With plenty of drawer room to accommodate both my jewelry making tools and sewing notions, I couldn’t have asked for a more functional piece. Curtain making, here I come!

