Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Autumn In The Hills Necklace - main bw

Those of you who follow this blog know that I make one-of-a-kind and limited edition jewelry and sell it online. As a matter of fact, I have been selling my creations online since 2009 and maintaining an online shop on Etsy. Unfortunately, over the years, Etsy’s values began to drift apart from my values, and I started reconsidering my involvement with this particular online e-commerce platform.

A few weeks ago, after the company announced a completely new business direction and philosophy, redefining the term “handmade” in the process (if you are not familiar with the changes, you can read more about them here http://www.etsy.com/new-guidelines), I decided that, in good conscience, I could no longer be associated with that venue. Mind you, it is difficult to leave behind something one has been working really hard to develop over the past 4.5 years. It is difficult having to start over, start from a zero and build again from the ground up, but I am not afraid of hard work. Integrity and honesty are very important to me, and this proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back was just the final nudge in the new direction.

That said, I have already started building my presence on two new online selling platforms, Goodsmiths and the Square Market. It will take a while to get my shops on these venues fully stocked and migrate all items from my old Etsy shop to these two venues, but I am hoping to accomplish it by the end of the year. I already have most of my Goodsmiths shop filled, but still need to work on photos, titles, and general feel of that shop in order to make it look professional and give it a unified look. Work on my Square Market shop on the other hand, is progressing rather slowly as I am migrating my current Etsy listings to that shop one by one, manually. I do like the look of the Square Market shop better than Goodsmiths, and I love the ability to conduct both online and in person business once I receive my little Square credit card reader. I might get back into doing craft shows once I am a bit more settled in my new home, and this feature will come in really handy at that point in time.

Autumn In The Hills Necklace - blog

So, until the time my new shops are fully stocked and operational, I have decided to offer a “going off Etsy” sale to reduce some of my inventory. If you visit my Etsy shop, you will receive 40% off storewide (prices already reduced, no coupon needed), plus an additional $20 off purchases totaling $250 and above if you use coupon TAKE20 at checkout.

If you haven’t done any holiday gift shopping yet, pay me a visit and see what you can find. I would be glad to gift package items for you and even mail them directly to the gift recipient with a little handwritten note indicating the gift is from you.

I am also looking forward to seeing you at my two brand new shops, both now and after the first of the year. Oh, and make sure to tell your friends, too. I’d really appreciate some word of the mouth.

Thanks, and have a great weekend!

