Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Critters Bracelets bw

Running an online shop sometimes involves hard decisions when it comes to wholesale opportunities and a need to discount one’s prices in order to move inventory. One such dilemma has recently presented itself to me.

As some of you know, I will be closing my online shop on Etsy after the first of the year and concentrating on building my shops on Goodsmiths and Square Market. Now, a move is always a good time to reduce our possessions, and the same goes for a shop move and inventory. Therefore, a logical thing to do was to organize a sale in my Etsy shop. I thought I would discount my prices to wholesale or slightly below wholesale to get the inventory moving. Hence the 60% Off sale currently running and expected to run through the end of the year.

However, I felt that just discounting prices was not enough and that I needed to somehow publicize the sale as well. To that effect, I placed a paid ad on a blog that I follow and like, signed up to participate in the Free Shipping Day promotion, and last but not least, contacted one of the flash sale sites to see if they would be interested in offering my designs to their customers. Yesterday, I heard back from that site, 9th and Elm, telling me that I was accepted, and now I am wondering if I bit off more than I could chew…

My flash sale on 9th and Elm is scheduled to start on the 17th of December and feature 22 different (mostly one-of-a-kind) items. I will make sure to give you, my blog followers, a heads-up and a direct link as soon as the sale is live so that you can have the first dibs on whatever is there, since once an item is gone, it is gone – I will not be making another one like it.

Free Shipping Day this year is December 18th, and both my Etsy shops are participating. You can shop either my jewelry and accessory shop or my craft supply and vintage item shop. Make sure to use coupon FREESHIPDAY at checkout (December 18th only) to receive free shipping anywhere in the US, and as a bonus, your purchase is guaranteed to arrive by Christmas to most domestic locations. If you are making a purchase from one of my shops and you happen to live in the Black Hills area, drop me a note to let me know, and we can arrange for a personal delivery or pick up at my studio at your convenience instead of relying on USPS.

Last but not least, do visit the Gift Shop @ The Dahl in Rapid City, where you can find a few different bracelet styles from my line on sale.  Above all, have a Merry Christmas, a Happy New Year, and Happy Holidays if you celebrate any other holiday in addition to or instead of the first two.

